Crash Recovery Techniques
Unfortunately, even the best software applications sometimes crash. If you have made unsaved changes to a file while your application crashes, you may need a lot of valuable time to reproduce all your unsaved work . Powerproject is designed to recover from a client or server crash that leaves most, if not all, of your data intact. The Enterprise server keeps a copy of all work in progress on the Powerproject clients, and each client keeps a copy of its own work. This means that if the Enterprise server or a client crashes, you can restart the program and continue where you left off. When either the server or a client crashes, you can restart the program that crashed and continue working.
When a client crashes
In a client crash, the Powerproject client has stopped abnormally. After communication between the server and the client is lost, the server keeps a copy of the work in progress on that client. You can specify the length of time that the work is tracked by setting the timeout duration. When a user restarts the client and logs back into the same project within this time frame, the server is able to revert the previous changes to the client. If the user does not restart the client within this time frame and log in to the same project, the server deletes its copy of the work in progress on that client and the user will no longer be able to retrieve the unsaved changes.
When a user restarts the client after a client crash, a dialog box appears in which the user can choose whether to resume work on the project that was left or to start a new project. When the user chooses to resume work on the project that was abandoned, the project will open in exactly the same state as it was just before the client crashed.
When the server crashes
In the event of a server crash, the Enterprise server has stopped abnormally. When the server crashes, all clients are shown a message informing them that the client has lost its connection to the server. You must then restart the Asta server. However, you do not need to turn off the clients while waiting for the server to load. When the server loads, while the client is still open, it will automatically connect to the server and reload the project that was open when the server crashed.
When a connection to an Oracle® or SQL ServerTM database is lost, a message is displayed to all clients informing them that the client has lost its connection to the database. This message is repeated at a frequency that you can define yourself until the connection to the database is restored. Users are warned to save their work when the connection to the database is restored.